My Blogress: One small step for the public relations world, one Giant leap for Emily McCoy

As a final conclusion to the assignment aspect of this blog, I’d like to take the time to reflect over my blogress during this past semester. Regardless of when these posts were posted, I constantly found myself thinking “OH, i need to write that down, that would make a great blog post.” And now, I’d like to part from this blog (only temporarily, until the end of finals at least, I certainly plan to return) with a few thoughts on how my blogress (blog progress, if I forget to mention that before) has made me grow as a public relations professional.

My New Love Affair

-First of all, if the only purpose of writing a blog was to practice writing, then I would call it well worth it. Just learning how to formulate my own opinions in something simple enough to understand, yet witty enough to want to keep reading, yet intelligent enough sounding so that people may actually consider my opinions was a difficult enough task, and I can only imagine that writing in the real public relations world would prove to be as tricky.

-Secondly, starting a blog with a specific topic in mind (public relations, duh) is a great way to become even more of an expert on the topic. Sure, I’ve taken the classes, written the paper about the industry, even gone on a few interviews to prepare for a real life in the PR world, but I don’t think I’ve ever put as much outside research into the industry as I have this semester, and for that, I am thankful. The term “research” has such a horrible sound to it, I just imagine myself swamped in a storm of books and articles, but research doesn’t have to be so scary; in fact, research can be fun.

-Thirdly, blogging is a great way to network with other people in the industry. Even networking with my felllow peers through commenting and posting on each others’ blogs has proven helpful. I have learned a lot about my peers, and I consider being able to learn about people a talent, a talent very useful for the public relations industry. Networking with real professionals can be a scary thing, but if you can take a little time to get to know them, the better your chances are for being able to really hit a note with them, and benefit each other.

-Finally, this blog has helped to encourage me to embrace social media, as I have mentioned in oh, just about every single blog I have written. Even just practicing how to imbed links, pictures, video clips, and articles is important if I ever want to make it in the PR world.

On that note, it’s been real world! Fear not, I’ll soon return! I’m hoping to continue my blog next semester and gear it specifically towards my internship. Until then, if anyone is reading this, I hope you’ve enjoyed my thoughts about the industry, I hope to see you there some day soon!

~ by emily074 on December 9, 2009.

2 Responses to “My Blogress: One small step for the public relations world, one Giant leap for Emily McCoy”

  1. This was great to read and I’m so happy to read that you are going to continue blogging. You’ve done a great job and I’m looking forward to reading and commenting in the future.

  2. Emily I couldn’t agree with you more. I learned a lot from blogging, even though I was skeptical of the idea at first. When I started getting comments from readers I especially became more interested.

    I also plan on continuing my blog, but changing it up a bit. Since I have already done two internships and am about to graduate, I am ready to start the next step and begin the job search. I want to continue my blog as an account of my experience starting out, or attempting to start, in the professional world.

    I look forward to reading about your experience at your internship!

Leave a Reply

 
